Distinguished Alumnus 1999
Dr. Joseph Salamy

Born in Pittsburgh, Pa., in 1919, Joseph Salamy completed his high school education in 1937 at Borger, Texas. He came to Cameron in 1939, transferring from Texas Tech University in Lubbock. He received his associate degree as a pre-medical student at Cameron in 1940.

Salamy's near perfect grade point was reported in several issues of The Collegian while he attended Cameron in 1939-40. They just couldn't get the spelling correct on his name. Regardless, he has fond memories of Cameron and gives credit to the sincere, dedicated professors who gave him the foundation which later resulted in his admittance to the University of Oklahoma School of Medicine in 1941.

When Salamy earned his medical degree in 1944, he realized his life's ambition after many years of arduous study in addition to working to meet the financial need. He completed his internship and surgical residency in 1946 at Methodist Hospital of Dallas. He served in the Army in 1946-48, becoming a captain. After military service, he settled in Tulsa and started a family practice in Tulsa which he continues today. He has been a member of the American Academy of Family Practice since 1951.

Salamy became chief of staff at Tulsa's Hillcrest Medical Center in 1957. He was a founder of Doctors' Hospital in 1966 where he has been chief of staff. He has been president of Founders of Doctors' Hospital, Inc. and president of Founders of Doctors' Hospital Foundation. He served as president of the Oklahoma Chapter of American Academy of Family Physicians in 1967-68.

In addition to his family practice, he taught at the University of Oklahoma School of Medicine at Tulsa in 1978-89 as an assistant clinical professor of family medicine. He served as a medical advisor for Selective Service in Oklahoma in 1955-73 and served on their local board in Tulsa.

Honors received are Doctor of the Year from the Tulsa County Medical Society in 1988, a Distinguished Service Award from the University of Oklahoma in 1995, and the Leadership Oklahoma Award in 1995. He has been a member of Leadership Tulsa from 1988 to the present.