Oklahoma Politics

Scope and Purpose

The Oklahoma Politics journal explores the broad context of politics affecting Oklahoma and its place in the surrounding region.  We are especially interested in submissions that bring to bear a variety of methodological, analytical, and disciplinary perspectives on state and local politics of the central-south region of the United States: Oklahoma, Kansas, Colorado, New Mexico, Texas, Arkansas, and Louisiana.  Because “politics” cannot be thoroughly explored from only a single disciplinary point of view trans-disciplinary and collaborative projects are encouraged.

Though we are the journal of the Oklahoma Political Science Association, we encourage submissions from economists, sociologists, environmental scientists, policymakers, analysts, as well as political scientists and other scientists and practitioners whose substantive research bears on the politics and issues of the state and region.

Oklahoma Politics is a fully peer reviewed journal.  Each submission receives at least three anonymous reviews and each is reviewed by the editors before a decision is made to accept a manuscript for publication.OKL

Call for Manuscripts

Oklahoma Politics is soliciting manuscripts for its Volume 24, November 2014 issue. To download the specific manuscript preparation and submission guidelines, click here. The manuscript submission deadline is June 20, 2014.


For inquiries and manuscript submission please contact:

Dr. Tony Wohlers
Editor of Oklahoma Politics
Office of Academic Enrichment
Cameron University
Lawton, OK 73505
Phone: 580-581-2496
E-mail: awohlers@cameron.edu

Digital Archive

During the annual Oklahoma Political Science Association Meeting in November, the most current volume of Oklahoma Politics is made available to registered conference participants. In addition, all the previous volumes of Oklahoma Politics, which go back to its first volume published in 1992, are now available in full text format through a searchable online archive. To access the Oklahoma Politics digital archive, click here

Editorial Board

As part of the annual conference in November, the most recent volume of Oklahoma Politics is provided to registered conference participants.

Gary Copeland OU 405-325-6372 copeland@os.edu
Robert Darcy OSU 405-744-5641 bob.darcy@okstate.edu
Rick Farmer OID 405-522-4609 Rick.Farmer@oid.ok.gov
Jan Hardt UCO 405-974-5839 jhardt@ucok.edu
Ken Hicks RSU 918-343-7687 KennethHicks@rsu.edu
Tony Litherland OBU 405-878-2223 Tony.Litherland@obu.edu
Christine Pappas ECU 580-559-5640 cpappas@ecok.edu
Brett Sharp UCO 405-974-5526 bsharp@uco.edu
John Ulrich ECU 580-332-8000 x421 julrich@mailclerk.ecok.edu
Tony Wohlers CU 580-581-2496 awohlers@cameron.edu
John Wood RSC 405-733-7922 jwood@rose.edu



OPSA's Peer-Reviewed Journal

Managing Editor

Dr. Tony Wohlers
Oklahoma Politics
Cameron University
awohlers@cameron.edu
580-581-2496