Cameron University Percussion Ensemble presents “An Election Evening Escape!”

The Cameron University Percussion Ensemble (CUPE) will present "An Election Evening Escape!" on Tuesday, November 4, 2008, at 8 PM at the Cameron University Theatre.  The Cameron University Percussion Ensemble, comprised of CU percussion majors, is conducted by Dr. James Lambert, CU Professor of Music. A reception hosted by Friends of Cameron Percussion will follow the concert in the University Theatre foyer. Admission to the concert is $6 for adults, $4 for students. Advance tickets can be purchased by contacting the CU Department of Music at 581-2440. Tickets can also be purchased 30 minutes prior to the beginning of the concert at the University Theatre box office.

 "The Cameron University Percussion Ensemble has been performing campus concerts for 33 years," says Lambert. "Many of the percussion alumni are performing or teaching across the country. The members of this year's percussion ensemble are carrying on a proud tradition of top-notch musicianship."

 Current members include percussionists, Jason Dozier, Grant Johnson, Jarrod LaRoche, Kevyn Reece, Klay Reece, Jeremy Toombs, Chris Turner, and Clint Williams, all of Lawton, and Kimberly Garza of Iowa Park, TX.

 The ensemble will present an eclectic repertoire consisting of "Teamwork" by Lynn Glassock, "The Gilded Cage" by Susan Powell, "Concerto for Timpani" by John Beck featuring Jeremy Toombs on timpani, "Concerto for Marimba" by Ney Rosauro featuring Grant Johnson on marimba, "La Llorona" arranged by Ruth Jeanne, "Alabama Moon" by George Hamilton Green arranged by William Cahn featuring Grant Johnson on xylophone, and "Techno-Pop" by Nathan Daughtrey. 

 Guest alumnus Josh Sampson, music teacher for Lawton Public Schools, will join the ensemble for several steel drum compositions. The Cameron steel drum ensemble, Cameron University Pan Express, will present "Oye Como Va" arranged by Diane Downs, "Ritmo Suave" by Lalo Davila, "Fiesta Latina" by Lalo Davila, and "Brazil" by Barroso and Russell and arranged by Diane Downs.


October 29, 2008