Cameron University Department of Music recognizes students during annual awards ceremony

The Cameron University Department of Music celebrated the achievements of its students during a recent ceremony by presenting individual awards and recognizing 2016 graduates.

Gus Echols, Duncan, received the Concert Band Special Recognition Award. The Beth Adcock Award for the non-music major in Concert Band was presented to Jimmie Hinson, Lawton.

Percussion Ensemble awards were presented to Echols; Paul Martin, Cache; Jacob Downing, Poteau; Tyler Reeves, Denton, Texas; and Lorenzo Butler, Peter Macias, Britnie Mendenhall and Noah Polynice, Lawton.  

The Dave Sandstrom Award, epitomizing the consummate volunteer spirit, was presented to Logan Hale, Lawton, and Kacie Scroggins, Cache.

Hannah Esquer, Lawton, and Tyler Farmer, Geronimo, were honored with the Guitar Ensemble award.

Ike Chan, Hong Kong, received the William Fletcher Piano Award.

Natalie Finley, Lawton, was honored with the Civic Symphony Award.

Receiving recognition for performance excellence during Soiree VII were Butler, Chan, Fernandez and Morales, as well as Haleigh Adams, Diana Kirby, and Mena Stone, Lawton; and Gabe Caron, Altus.

Numerous awards were presented for vocal performance. Haleigh received the Musical Theatre Excellence Award. Adams also received recognition for Outstanding Opera Workshop Performance, as did Roxanne Walton, Lawton.

Section Leader Awards were presented to Jessica Fernandez (Soprano), Lawton; Natasha Snavely (Alto), Peter Macias and Jose Rodriguez (Tenor), all of Lawton, and Caron (Bass).

Snavely received the Superior Leadership Award, and the Sunshine Award was presented to Butler and Fernandez.

Scroggins, Amy Morales, Lawton; and Victor Effiong, Cross River State, Nigeria, were recognized with Most Exemplary Chorister Awards.

Jakob Bailey, Lawton, received the Best Volunteer Award.

Members of the Centennial Singers receiving recognition with a special award were Fernandez, Macias and Rodriguez.

Echols and Fernandez received the Pi Kappa Lambda Award.

A number of scholarships were awarded during the ceremony.

Kirby received the Kathryn Hickman Scholarship, established in 1978 by CU graduate Kathryn Hickman. Butler, Echols and Esquer received the Philip and Aldine Cash Endowed Scholarship. The Schubert Music Club Scholarship was presented to Mendenhall and Morales.

Recipients of the Joel Wilkinson Endowed Scholarship in Music were Downing, Hale, Hinson, Martin, Mendenhall and Snavely as well as Sarah Coe, Frederick; and Braden Hatch, Lawton.

McMahon Foundation Scholarships were presented to Adams, Butler, Caron, Echols, Effiong, Kirby,  Morales and Snavely as well as to Wesley Stafford, Altus;  Derik Daubenspeck, Cache; Trevor Campbell, Haleigh Sweeden, Lawton; and Samuel Phillips, Sallisaw.

The Department of Music also recognized this year’s graduating seniors. They are:

Bachelor of Arts

Lawton: Jessica Fernandez, Jose Rodriguez

Bachelor of Music

Hong Kong: Ike Chan

Lawton: Jamie Hatcher, Joseph Kinsman, Shane Rutherford

Bachelor of Music Education

Denton, Texas: Tyler Reeves

Lawton: Chelsea Jenkins


May 2, 2016