Cameron University Business Research Center to host “Meet the Candidates: Election 2018” in two sessions

Cameron University’s Bill W. Burgess, Jr. Business Research Center (BBRC) will host “Meet the Candidates: Election 2018,” two business forums featuring candidates for various statewide and area offices. The forums will take place on Tuesday, October 9, and Thursday, October 11 at 1 p.m. in the CETES Conference Center. Both are open to the public at no cost.

“With the November 6 general election fast approaching, voters in Oklahoma should take every opportunity to learn the views of the candidates,” says Dr. Syed Ahmed, Director, BBRC. “These two sessions will provide candidates for numerous state and county offices with the opportunity to present their individual platforms. We encourage attendance so that voters will be well-informed when they head to the polls on Election Day.”

Candidates who will participate in the forum on October 9 are:

  • Labor Commissioner: Brandt Dismukes, Fred Dorrell, Leslie Osborn
  • Insurance Commissioner: Kimberly Fobbs
  • State Representative, District 62:  Larry Bush, Daniel Pae
  • District Judge, District 5, Office 1: Emmit Tayloe, Jay Walker
  • District Attorney, District 5: Fred C. Smith, Richard Tannery

Candidates who will participate in the forum on October 11 are:

  • State Representative, District 65: Toni Hasenbeck
  • State Corporation Commissioner: Ashley Nicole McCray
  • State Treasurer: Charles de Coune
  • State Superintendent of Public Instruction: John Cox, Larry Huff
  • State Auditor and Inspector: John Yeutter
  • County Commissioner, District No. 1: Charlie Hale, Gail Turner
  • County Commissioner, District No. 3: Alvin Cargill, Kerry Givens

 All candidates on the ballot were invited to participate.



October 1, 2018