Cameron University Department of Chemistry, Physics and Engineering presents awards, scholarships

The Cameron University Department of Chemistry, Physics and Engineering celebrated the achievements of its students during a recent ceremony in which students were inducted into honor societies and received recognition, and scholarships were awarded.

Inductees into Gamma Sigma Epsilon, the national chemistry honor society, were Tolulade Adenuga, Ijebu-Ode, Ogun, Nigeria; Eduardo Aguayo, Cayla Caveny, Abigail Niswonger and Nicole Wright, Lawton; Jonathan Drake, Altus; Mistura Faro, Ayobo, Lagos, Nigeria; Lindsay Gladwell, Oklahoma City;  Madeline Jacobi, Marlow; Lindsay Maez, Noble; and Tolulope Oyetoro, Santo Ota, Ogun, Nigeria.

Joshua Stewart, Duncan, received the Freshmen Chemistry-Sequence Award and was also inducted into Sigma Pi Sigma, the National Physics Honor Society.

 Adewunmi ‘Felicia’ Adebanjo, Lagos, Nigeria, was honored as Outstanding Student Worker.

Megan Magness, Elgin, received the Wichita Falls/Duncan Section of the American Chemical Society Senior Award.

Scholarship recipients were Lynnsey Manard, Napa, Calif.; Lindsay Maez, Noble; and Esther Park, Lawton, who each received the Tom Brown Scholarship; and Micah Coleman, Lawton, who received the Billy Slabaugh Memorial Endowed Scholarship. Manard also received the Charles Shelly Graybill M.D. Endowed Scholarship. Madeline Jacobi, Marlow, was awarded the Richard J. Allgood M.D. Scholarship in Pre-Medicine Studies; and Shane Bryant, Lawton, received the Kenneth C. Garner Endowed Scholarship in STEM.

Madeline Jacobi, Marlow, received the Raymond “Red” Miller Achievement Award which recognizes academic performance by a student pursuing a degree in chemistry, and Micah Coleman, Lawton, was honored with the Allen Zisman Excellence in Chemistry Award.

Recipients of the Jimmy and Virgie Stanton Achievement Award, which recognizes academic performance by students pursuing a degree in chemistry or physics, were Cecelia Brown and Esther Park, Lawton; Lynnsey Manard, Napa, Calif.; and Madeline Jacobi, Marlow.

NASA Awards, provided by a grant from NASA to support students in STEM programs, were presented to Marina Brown, Malcolm Gehlbach, Zachary Morrison, Zane Peckenpaugh, Noah Polynice, Hella Quinnett, Lawton; Sherri Lovett, Hastings; Lindsay Maez, Noble; Megan Magness, Elgin; and Erik Perez, Altus.

Cecilia Brown and Mariah Pierce, Lawton, were honored with the Chemistry Award, which recognizes students who have excelled in the Chemistry program.

Students receiving tuition waiver scholarships were Cecelia Brown, Shane Bryant, Esther Park, and Bryan Stratton, Lawton; Davon Demar, Duncan; Megan Magness, Elgin; and Lynnsey Manard, Napa, Calif.



May 10, 2018