Cameron University students, staff and faculty honored by Phi Kappa Phi

Cameron University students, alumni, staff and faculty members were honored by Phi Kappa Phi during the university chapter’s annual induction ceremony and awards presentation. Membership is by invitation only to the top 10 percent of seniors and graduate students and the top 7.5 percent of juniors. Faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction also qualify. Inductees are expected to attain superior scholarship in all academic disciplines, promote intellectual life and the academic prestige of the university and promote the elements of character that would stimulate others to pursue excellence.

“An invitation to join Phi Kappa Phi is a tremendous honor,” says Cathy Blackman, chapter membership coordinator. “We are pleased to celebrate the achievements of this year’s inductees.”

Students who accepted membership are listed by hometown:

Altus:  Christopher Crismon, Jonathan Drake

Baglung, Nepal: Sharan Khanal

Cache:  Madison White, Hannah Wiginton

Chattanooga:  Miranda Fritts

Comanche: ShaLee Hale

Duncan:  Stacey Corp, Sydney Evans, Kelli Heinrich, Christy Jarboe, Kelle Jeffrey, Dakota Kaus,Charlotte Taton

Elgin:  Cody Hervey

Fletcher:  Luis Jaquez

Ibadan, Oye Nigeria: Aalia Oloyede

Ijebu, Ode Nigeria: Tolulade Adenuga

Ikeja, Lagos State, Nigeria: Williams Osunkwo

Ikorudu, Lagos Nigeria: Eniola Adewunmi

Kathmandu, Nepal: Upama Neupane, Sandesh Pokharel

Lalitpur, Nepal: Nigol Bista

Lawton/Fort Sill:  James Bashaw, Angela Burke, Stephanie Cefalu, Stephanie Cooper,Miranda Cottrill, Candace Craig,Megan Craig, Tushar Das, Kylie Erricson, Phoebe Fullen, Caylie Holybee, Bailey Hyde, Euishin Kim, Krystal Liticker, Nicole Merriweather, Amy Morales, Aleigh Peiroo, Alissa Reed,Junu Sashankar, Tara Stevens, Shanell Swearengen, Meta M. Tate, Jim Teeter, Jonathan Vann, Megan Veldhuizen, Bryan Young

Marlow:  Cassie Hill, Cassandra Holtke, Madeline Jacobi

Mountain Park:  David Coffey

Nuwakot, Nepal: Swornim Bhandari

Ratliff City: Dakota Chandler

Rupandehi, Nepal: Aayush Thapa

Satellite Town, Lagos, Nigeria: Gold Okorie

Sindhupalchok, Nepal: Yangjum Lama

Sterling: Shelby Carpenter

Surkhet, Nepal: Dikshant Wagle

Walters:  Terra Brag

CU faculty members Dr. Howard Kuchta, Interim Dean of the School of Graduate and Professional Studies; Dr. Stephanie Boss, Chair, Department of Sports and Exercise Science; and Dr. Mike Estep, Chair, Department of Computing and Technology, were also selected for membership.

Dr. Danny McGuire, Chair, Department of Chemistry, Physics and Engineering, was honored as Distinguished Faculty, and Fritz Diehm, Class of 1993, was honored as Distinguished Alumnus. Diehm is a Supervisory Special Agent in the Dallas Field Division of the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA).

Phi Kappa Phi, founded in 1897, is the nation's oldest and largest all-discipline honor society, with more than 280 chapters worldwide. CU's Chi Eta Sigma chapter was established in 1975. Cameron is host to one of only five chapters in Oklahoma and is the only regional university in the state with a Phi Kappa Phi chapter.



April 24, 2018