Cameron University chapter of Sigma Tau Delta welcomes new members, presents awards

The Cameron University Department of English and Foreign Languages recently welcomed seven new members to the Beta Omicron chapter of Sigma Tau Delta, the international English honor society. Sigma Tau Delta strives to confer distinction for high achievement in English language and literature in undergraduate, graduate, and professional studies.

Inducted into Sigma Tau Delta were Shelia Griffin, Djimon Jones, Aimee Klein, and Richard West, Lawton; Kyla Langford, Elgin;  Brooke Purkey, Sterling; and Jessica Spence; Walters.

Sandesh Pokharel, Bohoratar, Nepal, will serve as president for 2018-19, and Jones was elected vice president. Spence will serve as secretary; Rebecca Harris, Lawton, as treasurer, and West as Student Government Representative.

Ana B. Paez, Purcell, received the Lawton Shakespeare Club Award.

Several students were recognized for internships and student research. Those allowing publication of their name are: Jessica Allmon, Duncan; Anuoluwapo M. Onabanjo, Ikorodu, Lagos, Nigeria; Katherine, Book, Lawton; Sandesh Pokharel, Bohoratar, Nepal; and Rebecca S. Wright, Marlow.

Sigma Tau Delta, International English Honor Society, was founded in 1924 at Dakota Wesleyan University.



April 16, 2018