Cameron University Office of Campus Life presents annual awards

Cameron University’s Office of Campus Life presented awards to students, faculty and staff during a recent ceremony on the CU campus. The event included the announcement of the Top 20 Students, comprised of outstanding juniors and seniors, and the Top 10 Non-Traditional Students, made up of outstanding juniors and seniors over the age of 25. Students are selected based on excellence in leadership, community service, campus involvement and academics.

This year's Top 20 honorees, listed by hometown, are:

Bhadrapur, Jhapa, Nepal: Abhaya Poudel

Fajaldo, Puerto Rico: Alexander Bonano-Cruz

Kathmandu, Nepal: Sujana Rupakheti, Nirjal Shrestha, Sandesh Thapa 

Lagos, Nigeria: Adewunmi Adebanjo, Eniola  Adewunmi, Amarachi Oleru, Elizabeth Momoh 

Lawton/Fort Sill: Megan Craig, Jeffery Elbert, Taegan Gatlin, Alexandra Kolinski, Aleigh Peiroo, Brandon Schmidt, Meta Tate, Madison White, Nicole Wright, Jeein Yoon,

Mountain View: Summer Palmer

St. John’s Parish, Saint Kitts and Nevis: Urnesia Pemberton

Willits, CA: Tiana Buckner


Making Cameron’s Top 10 list are:

Banning, Calif.: Sandi Colby

Cache:  Susan Schlecht

Corpus Christi, Texas: Leanne Perales

Duncan:   Stacey Corp

Fletcher:  Chelsea Marks 

Lawton/Fort Sill: Dawn Becker-Miller, Jeffery Elbert, Stacie Larsen, Christine Moore

Virginia Beach, Va.: Kelda Lathan-Bennett

Luis Jaquez, Fletcher, was sworn in as president of the Student Government Association for 2018-19. Ryan Christie, Lawton, and Gabriel Collado Candelario, Ponce, Puerto Rico, were sworn in as vice president and treasurer, respectively. Jaquez and Jeannie Adams, Carnegie, were honored as SGA Senators of the Year.

Aalia Oloyede, Ibadan, Oye, Nigeria was sworn in as President of PAC for 2018-19,. Jose Olivo, Lawton, was named PAC Executive Member of the Year, and Celeste Silkey, Lawton, was named PAC General Member of the Year. 

Jashmon Rana, Kathmandu, Nepal, and Victoria-Lemoe Esera, Lawton, were named Intramural Players of the Year.

Nominees for the following awards were submitted by members of the campus community and selected by a committee of students, faculty, and staff.

David Bublitz, Assistant Professor of Communication, was named Professor of the Year. Corey Sanders, advisor for the Cameron Association of Interactive Gaming (CAIG), was named Student Organization Advisor of the Year. Kyle Jarman, Retention Counselor in the Academic Advising Center, was honored as Staff Member of the Year.

The Cameron University Nepalese Association was named Student Organization of the Year in addition to being recognized as a Five-Star Organization. Student organizations garnered points in the areas of organization and planning, campus programming, community service/philanthropy, and campus involvement. Additional Five-Star Organizations are Alpha Phi, American Chemical Society, CAIG, CU Model UN, Criminal Justice Association, Diversity Diplomats, Engineering Club, MathCom, Omega Zeta Theta and Psi Chi.

Cyberattack Recovery: City Water Service Bills, sponsored by the Accounting Club, was honored as Outstanding Community Service Project. Cale Gardner, Tuttle, was recognized as Outstanding Emerging Student Organization Leader for his involvement in CAIG. The Outstanding Program of the Year award was presented for Livestock Production Program, sponsored by the Aggie Club. Haley Berry, Marlow, was honored as Outstanding Student Organization Leader for her leadership of the Aggie Club.



April 24, 2018